I am Pastor Tony Brown, serving the wonderful folks who make up the family of believers of the Whitesburg First Baptist Church in Whitesburg, Kentucky. They are among the most loving, caring, and giving people I have ever served. This church is a praying church too. One of my life verses is Isaiah 50:4,”The Lord God hath given me the tongue of the learned, that I should know how to speak a word in season to him that is weary”. This verse pretty well states the purpose of my blog. I want to be an encourager to those who may be going through challenging seasons of their lives by sharing the words the Lord has given to me. By nature I am an encourager. Pastoral care seems to be my primary spiritual gift. I love people and I love to listen to their stories. So, from time to time I will be passing along some uplifting stories that I have heard or experienced myself while journeying through my life. In our world today, it seems like we hear very little good news. That is unfortunate since I believe the good in people I meet far exceeds the bad I hear about on news. It is my strong conviction that there is so much more good about life than we are ever told. The good things about Christianity and the church are more often ignored or forgotten than talked about. While the world insists on criticizing  Christianity and bringing up those people and events that give it a bad name, I choose to focus on the loving and self-sacrificing Christians that I know. In my ministry of serving in local churches for about forty years now, the overwhelming majority of believers I have met are kind, compassionate, and committed to the values that Jesus taught and demonstrated during His earthly life. Don’t you think it’s about time we hear the truth about real Christians and stop wallowing in the negative of the minority who fail to live like the Christ they profess to follow? I hope you will become a regular follower of “a seasoned word” and read the stories I share about real Christ like believers. I am sure that if you do you will fall in love with Christ and His people we call the church.

Leave a Reply

