Master Sargent Cato was my close friend for about a year. We were both stationed at a remote site in eastern Turkey. I never learned his first name, as we seldom used them. We were nothing alike. He was tall, burley, brown skinned, married, and older than me. I was a young, single airman at the time. But we had one thing in common – our love for the Lord. Cato was what I observed as a strong, seasoned Christian who knew more about life than I did. We attended many Bible studies together. One day he and I ran into each other while on temporary duty at the nearby “big base”. He asked me, “What are you doing tonight?” I told him that I was free. He followed by saying, “I used to be stationed here and they had Bible studies in guys homes. If there is one for tonight, would you like to go?” I said “sure.” That night we met and he told me there was one scheduled. It was at a home off base. So, we caught a taxi and exited through the main gate. A few moments later we arrived at the house. We knocked. Who answered the door, but a few little children carrying trays of cookies. We were welcomed in. What a great night we had eating cookies and drinking punch and enjoying the Bible study, singing, and fellowship. But one thing impressed me more than anything else. I was the only Caucasian person there. Middle easterners… African Americans… and the host family was Hispanic. That night we were all one. What a mighty God to be able to bring men and women and children from different backgrounds together and unite them through His Holy Spirit! I have never forgotten that Bible study. I can’t remember what it was about, but I will never forget the sweet, Christian fellowship we enjoyed. When I recall that special time, I think of the Bible studies and times of fellowship right here in my church and community. I have held them in restaurants, library, fire department, and in church. We had people from all different denominational backgrounds and yet we enjoyed the same sweet fellowship as I did in Turkey. That’s why I like Sunday school so much. People come together to pray, study, fellowship, and reach out to those in need. Sunday school is a cluster of many different groups of people who come together united by their love for God and each other. When life gets hard and knocks you down, you have this small family of believers who love you and will care for you. When you are sick or your resources run low, they are there for you to help you and encourage you. My prayer is to see more Sunday school classes and home groups springing up all over the place. This is what comes to my mind when I read Acts 2:42-47, “And they continued steadfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, and in breaking of bread, and in prayers… And all that believed were together, and had all things common; And sold their possessions and goods, and parted them to all men, as every man had need. And they, continuing daily with one accord in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, did eat their meat with gladness and singleness of heart, 47 Praising God, and having favor with all the people. And the Lord added to the church daily such as should be saved.” Ask God to plant you in a good Bible study group and GROW!

Leave a Reply

